DOUBLE DUTY! HOW SOME OF MY FAVORITE FINDS DO TWICE THE DECORATING WORK….

I love thrift store shopping, I found a find today that is perfect for my patio. A lantern for  99 cents. I know it was just a small thing but it warmed my thrifty, crafty heart. I have a collection of finds that do double duty. Its very important to me that things I find have alternative uses..isn’t that the beauty of picking? Seeing something once created for a sole purpose be used in other ways…that’s what Pickers are at heart…visionaries.

Let me share with you some of my favorite vintage finds and some of my not so vintage finds. I am talking like 99 cent store finds. These favorite finds of mine are for the most part decorative pieces that have functionality. Hope when your done seeing the things I do here, you too, will look at things differently. My first find is a glass frog, a floral frog. Frogs were created in the Victorian era to help hold cut flowers in containers. They can be made out of materials like metal and glass. I have even seen some modern day frogs made out of Mason jar lids here on etsy https://www.etsy.com/search?q=floral%20frogs&ship_to=US&ref=auto10, The one I found several years ago at an Am Vet thrift store was about 2.00 and I snatched it up because it was heavy glass. I have used it alternately on my desk and in my bathroom.

MY GLASS FROG AND A VASE

PLACE FROG IN VASE TO ARRANGE FLOWERS

STEMS ARE PLACED IN HOLES TO HELP FORM AN ARRANGEMENT

SEE HOW THEY HOLD THE STEMS?

The photo below is how I used it on my desk…it held pens and doubled as a paper weight.

PENHOLDER

OR TOOTHBRUSH HOLDER

WISH I STILL HAD TWO!

My other favorite find was something I actually pulled out of an old shed in a house I shared with a friend oh 13 years ago. I had two of them but lost one somehow, somewhere. They were actually doors to a little window that opened up in the shed. They had some ugly stained fabric originally, like a canvas on them. I ripped that off and never changed anything else about them. The metal lattices are original to the piece.

 

IM NOT BIG ON JEWELRY BUT I HAVE LOTS OF SUNGLASSES!

One way to use it is in my bathroom which has a large double vanity area on the opposite side of my frog I could use it to hang jewelry…I don’t have much though I am not a jewelry girl…sunglasses work on here too! I have a few of those! I uses binder clips to hang bracelets on.

Another use is a memory board or photo holder. This is how I use it most often

HOLDING MEMENTOS

Normally I would hang this on my wall above my desk to keep mementos and treasured photos, I love this use the best! And yes, I use those binder clips from the 99 cent store near my job…I LOOOOVE these so many uses…Going to make a hat holder for my daughter using macramed jute twine and washi tape and these handy dandy clips. But for my memento board I use them to hold photos or treasures.

Handy Dandy double, and triple duty binder clips!

I even used them to hang a lace tablecloth over my ugly apartment blinds for now.

 

BINDER CLIPS HOLD MY TABLECLOTH “CURTAIN” I USED NAILS BUT I RECOMEND HOOKS

LOVE THIS COTTON AND LACE TABLECLOTH FROM THE THRIFT STORE

Even the table cloth is doing double duty!

I LOVE ITS SHABBY CHICNESS ON ITS OWN


Hope that I have given you some midweek inspiration and that you take a second look at that thing you  passed up at the thrift store! Oh yes here is my lantern, a little dirty and rusty but I love the rust on this…probably wont change the color at all just clean it up. Thought of adding a Patriotic bow and a citronella candle so I can sit on my patio in the evening.

Or it could house my fairy garden? Hmmm not sure but these Sculpey mushrooms I made look awfully adorable in this!

HMMM MAYBE SOME FAIRIES SHOULD LIVE IN HERE!






This entry was published on July 6, 2014 at 8:54 am. It’s filed under DIY Craft Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

