WHATS A GIRL TO DO WHEN SHE RUNS OUT OF STRAWBERRY SYRUP TO MAKE A GLAZE? I KNOW MAKE ONE OUT HER FAVORITE WINE!

Been busy with the end of the school year and working on projects to help me build my fledgling business.. I haven’t forgotten about my blog. In fact I have so many ideas to put in it that the wheels are turning!

I am working on my freelance floral design business Passionflower Boutique, a fitting name because I am a one woman show specializing in flowers and tablescapes for smaller weddings, and events. I have always wanted to own a flower shop and have worked in the floral industry for about 8 years total, I miss it. So I am making good on a promise to myself to go BIG or go home. Fear of failure cannot hold me back any longer, at this stage in my life what have I got to loose. Looking forward to the many changes that will be in store for me as I start this new venture.

This weekend was filled with grandchildren, tee ball games and pizza afterward, and today strawberry shortcake. I hadn’t made my syrup lately but I thought I would take some glaze for strawberry shortcake out of my favorite hometown, homegrown wine from Quady Winery. My little town has some impressive wineries here and highly recommend visiting the MaderaWine Trail or Appellation California or Ap-Cal as us locals call it http://apcalwine.com/wine. On a Friday Summer night Ap-Cal is the place to visit with a relaxed and casual atmosphere. Bring your lawn chair and sit under the stars and listen and dance to a variety of musical acts booked for the Summer concert series and while you are there do some wine tasting and drink craft beers. I enjoyed my first visit there recently, I loved it.I created this glaze because I had no homemade strawberry syrup on hand, so I used Quady wineries Red Electra instead. Along with 1 cup of wine I added 1/3 cup of sugar to a medium sized saucepan and boiled it for a few minutes feeling the alcohol waft into my nose. I then added 2 tbsp of cornstarch slurry and whisked it until it became a lovely glaze consistency for my sliced strawberries. I added it to about 2 cups of fresh sliced strawberries. It was absolute heaven served on a homemade shortcake with homemade whip cream and strawberries. Yes, success! I just threw it together on a whim, a happy little discovery that I will definitely make again!

If you don’t like wine you will love Red Electra, because I hated wine..but that was because I had never had a good wine. Its true Quady’s Red Electra is a dessert wine, and sweeter than the average wine but who cares I LOVE IT AND WILL DRINK IT OVER OTHER WINES! I also like their original Electra as well which is also a sweet peachy melon wine. Visit their site here at this link, no I get nothing from them for sending you here http://www.quadywinery.com/wines.html just the hope that you will discover the wonderfulness of Electra and her sister Red Electra. They are both perfect for summer drinking and are easily mixed with other alcohols or beverages to create new tastes.

The glaze was a smash, my daughter, her husband, and my best friend all loved it!

STRAWBERRIES IN RED ELECTRA GLAZE

Strawberry Shortcake with Red Electra Glaze and Homemade Whipped Cream


RECIPE

1 FLUID C. RED ELECTRA

1/3 C. GRANULATED SUGAR

2TBSP CORNSTARCH

1/4 C. COLDWATER 

2C. FRESH SLICED STRAWBERRIES

KEY INGREDIENTS IN THE GLAZE, CORNSTARCH AND QUADY WINERIES RED ELECTRA WINE


MIX THE CORNSTARCH WITH THE WATER TO CREATE A SLURRY, SET ASIDE.

POUR WINE AND SUGAR IN SAUCEPAN AND SIMMER TILL SUGAR IS DISSOLVED

ADD THE SLURRY TO WINE AND SUGAR STIRRING WITH A WIRE WHISK, UNTIL THE WINE “TURNS”, BECOMING OPAQUE AND THEN TRANSLUCENT, THE GLAZE SHOULD BE THICK, REMOVE FROM HEAT COOL AND REFRIGERATE UNTIL READY TO USE. OR AS I DID POUR IN A PIE PAN AND COOL FOR A FEW MINUTES AND PUT IN FREEZER FOR 5 MINUTES…WE WERE IN A HURRY. ONCE COOL MIX IN STRAWBERRIES.

SPLIT YOUR SHORTCAKE FILL WITH STRAWBERRIES AND REPEAT, TOP WITH HOMEMADE WHIPPED CREAM!

Below is a link to a great and easy homemade shortcake…or use store bought or angel food cake.

 


That’s not all I did today, I also froze some blueberries which were a steal at 1.99 for a pound and a half at my local Food -For- Less store. Follow these instructions and you will have frozen blueberries for recipes like pancakes, waffles, smoothies and maybe even add it to that glaze and strawberries for a red white and blue dessert for the 4th of July! Pickersdaughter tip….when adding to batter dust berries with the flour you are using so they adhere to the batter better and don’t clump in one spot.

RINSE BLUEBERRIES

DRY BLUEBERRIES ON SOFT TOWEL

REMOVE STEMS

ONCE DRY PLACE ON PARCHMENT LINED COOKIE SHEET, WAX PAPER WORKS ALSO

READY TO FREEZE

PLACE IN FREEZER AS LEVEL AS POSSIBLE AND DO NOT DISTURB

ONCE FROZEN PLACE IN QUART SIZE FREEZER BAGS

BERRIES FOR SMOOTHIES, PANCAKES, SYRUP AND SO MUCH MORE!

They don’t clump up because they were individually frozen..use a handful in your pancake or waffle batter or favorite smoothie recipes, or pop em in your mouth as a frozen treat!

Enjoy these berries all year long if you are inclined to freeze larger batches!

Happy Summer Eating….

A Pickers Daughter

This entry was published on July 6, 2014 at 8:32 am. It’s filed under Favorite Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

