How To Make A Burlap Wreath Using A Hanger?

I have been so busy….creating. I have been creating product for my etsy.com shop A Pickers Daughter, and trying to get ready to set my creations up in a friends business. I am overwhelmed. I still feel like blogging is an important component in getting myself out there to people who otherwise wouldn’t know me. So today home sick. I decided to make a tutorial on how to do a burlap wreath. You know the ones you have pinned on your Pinterest with well meaning intention to do, and then you try to buy the wire wreath form and dang it all WalMart is always out of them. Plus they can be pricey.

Well I have the perfect solution…hangers…yes WIRE HANGERS…yes visions of Joan Crawford as played by Faye Dunaway pop in my head…love that scene…so deliciously evil. Anyway back to the lowly wire hanger….the wire on hangers is usually a really good gauge and will solidly hold shape. It worked for my baseball wreath that I just sold on Etsy, and it works equally well for deco mesh wreaths and burlap.

DSCF9122

Today I will show you how to make a burlap wreath that ends up being about 14 inches in diameter…a couple of my other wreaths are a bit larger 16 as I used the entire hanger or banded two together.

TOOLS

WIRE CUTTERS

NEEDLE NOSE PLIERS

HANGER

10 YARDS OF 5 INCH BURLAP

6 INCHES OF JUTE TWINE

HOT GLUE

GLUE GUN

SILK FLOWERS, RAFFIA, LACE, GOURDS, ETC.

wreath 004

FLORAL ESSENTIALS SILK STEMS, RAFFIA, TULLE, FOAM GOURDS

wreath 002

TOOLS TO GATHER…

 

 

 

Hope you enjoy this tutorial and your many options for your burlap wreaths!

wreath 011

Burlap Wreath with a Fall feel.

shabh 003

A SHABBY CHIC LOOK WITH LACE AND RAFFIA.

A Pickers Daughter,

K.

This entry was published on October 14, 2014 at 5:48 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

